Constructing a Modern Highway

The West Virginia Legislature created the West Virginia Route 2 and I-68 Authority in 1997. The Authority is comprised of two representatives from each of the following counties: Hancock, Brooke, Ohio, Marshall, Wetzel, Tyler, Pleasants, Wood, Monongalia and Marion.

The Authority has two mandates: to focus on widening WV Route 2 from Parkersburg to Chester to a four-lane highway, and to extend I-68 from North Central West Virginia westward to the Ohio Valley.

The objective of the Authority is to promote and advance the construction of a modern highway through the above counties for the purpose of planning and assisting in establishing economic and community development along the specified areas.

The next Route 2 and I-68 Authority meeting will be Tuesday, December 12th at the Wetzel County Hospital at 6:00 p.m. The Authority will have the WV DOT District 6 Engineer, Gus Suwaid, present to talk about the impact of the Road Bond on Route 2.

Authority Board Members:
Fred Brunner, Chairman – Marshall County
David Yoder, Vice Chairman – Monongalia County
W. Duane Heck, Secretary – Brooke County
Eric Peters, Treasurer – Tyler County
Jim Stock – Brooke County
Marvin Six – Hancock County
Linda McNeil – Hancock County
Phil Mason – Marion County
Josh Jefferson – Ohio County
Don Morris – Pleasants County
Carl Mace – Pleasants County
John Hopkins – Tyler County
Charles Clements – Wetzel County
Don Shenefiel – Wetzel County
Andy Hartleben – Wood County
Mike Hall – Wood County
Dianna Lawrence, Non-Voting Member
Elwood Penn, IV, Non-Voting Member
Executive Director – Bob Miller, Marshall County


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>